I Am, I Am, I Am by Maggie O’Farrell

This is a hard book to classify--it's a memoir, but not a typical one. In seventeen linked essays, each one relating a near death experience, O'Farrell explores the inherent tension between life and death, the push and pull of mortality, the randomness, fragility and beauty of existing as creatures who die. It sounds vague and... Continue Reading →

Heart Berries by Terese Marie Mailhot

I was so looking forward to Heart Berries. I’ve recently rediscovered memoir (mostly thanks to audiobooks) and this one has been popping up all over the bookish internet as a book to look out for in 2018. Mailhot's memoir deals with her childhood on the Seabird Island Indian Reservation in the Pacific Northwest, her relationship with... Continue Reading →

Wild by Cheryl Strayed

I've been avoiding reading this for years, mostly because in my head I had it pegged in the vein of Eat, Pray, Love: privileged white lady gets divorced, does something totally radical and unexpected, and boom! enlightenment and empowerment. I do not need any more of those books in my in my life. But then, last... Continue Reading →

WordPress.com.

Up ↑