What A Week: February 12th-18th

It was another week of varied and eclectic reading! I’m still devouring books at a rapid pace, although, to be fair, I live alone and listen to audiobooks while cooking, eating, and walking the dog. That’s a lot of extra reading time. My favorites this week by far were This Will Be My Undoing by Morgan Jerkins and Red Clocks by Leni Zumas.

IMG_4538

BOOKS I FINISHED
The books I finished reading this week. Links go to my full reviews.

Blackfish City by Sam J. Miller
3/5: You’ll have to decide for yourself. I loved some aspects of this novel, and felt others weren’t executed successfully.

Radical Hope: Letters of Love and Dissent in Dangerous Times edited by Carolina De Robertis
3/5: I recommend it, especially as a book to dip in and out of for inspiration and comfort.

Treasure by Rebekah Weatherspoon
2/5: This wasn’t my favorite romance, but it was breezy and light and the main characters were two black gay women. If you’re looking for a sweet, quick read without tension, this one might work for you.

The Bright Hour by Nina Riggs (audio)
4/5: I recommend it with abandon!

The Prince and the Dressmaker by Jen Wang
4/5: I highly recommend it.

Wide Sargasso Sea by Jean Rhys
2/5: I struggled to get through this one. I wouldn’t recommend it to anyone, but apparently it’s a classic, and many others disagree with me. Since I finished it, I haven’t been able to gather my thoughts into a review. I’m hoping to pull something together this week, though. The reasons I disliked it are circling around in my head alongside what I may have missed.

This Will Be My Undoing by Morgan Jerkins (audio)
4/5: I recommend it with abandon!

Red Clocks by Leni Zumas
4/5: I reccomend it with abandon!

The King Is Always Above the People by Daniel Alarcon (audio)
2/5: I couldn’t connect with this one, but if you love short stories, you might love it.

Lone Wolf by L.A. Witt & Alexandr Voinov
3/5: A solid, though not spectacular, romance. If you’re into reading about process, fandoms, and geek culture, this book is totally for you.

BOOKS I’M IN THE MIDST OF
The books I’m reading right at this very moment.

Feel Free by Zadie Smith

Anna Karenina by Leo Tolstoy
I did not make much progress this week. I’m only at 18%. Better luck next week!

Halsey Street by Naima Coster

WHAT I’M READING NEXT
Next up in the never-ending cycle of too many books and too little time.

Brown Girl in the Ring by Nalo Hopkinson
Why I’m reading it: Nalo Hopkinson has been on my radar for a while. I love diverse science fiction that explores non-Western mythologies and worldviews. Hopkinson is a Jamaican-Candian writer, and the world of Brown Girl in the Ring is a combination of dystopian Toronto and Afro-Caribbean magic and spirituality. So that sounds right up my alley.

Wild by Cheryl Strayed
Why I’m reading it: I was so resistant to reading this memoir for so long, even though people kept recommending it to me. I think in my head I had it pegged in the vein of Eat, Prey, Love, I book I really disliked. But then I read Tiny Beautiful Things and fell head over heels for Cheryl Strayed, so now I want to read all of her words. The audiobook of this one finally came in from the library, so it’s next up.

JUST OUT!
Books published this week that I cannot wait to get my hands on.

Freshwater by Akwaeke Emezi
Why I’m excited about it: Everyone everywhere is talking about this one! It’s Emezi’s debut, about a young Nigerian woman who houses several separate selves within her. I have heard nothing but great things about this book, and I also happen to have it sitting on my counter already, so that’s a plus.

The Lost Girls of Camp Forevermore by Kim Fu
Why I’m excited about it: I loved Kim Fu’s first novel, For Today I am A Boy, and I have heard fantastic things about her new one.

Song of a Captive Bird by Jasmin Darznik
Why I’m excited about it: This is a novel based on the life of the Iranian poet Forugh Farrokhzhad. It takes place in 1950s Iran, and it’s about a woman poet trying to live a life of her own making despite what the world tells her. I’m hoping it’s as beautiful as it sounds.

OVER AT BOOK RIOT…

Nothing new from me this week, but I really enjoyed this list of SF/F books that don’t contain sexual violence against women. I’ve already added a bunch of these to my TBR.

MEANWHILE, THE OCEAN:

IMG_4452

IMG_4528

That’s it for me. How was your week of reading?

2 thoughts on “What A Week: February 12th-18th

Add yours

  1. All these books look amazing! I’m especially intrigued by Red Clocks. I just finished Anna Karenina and it was quite a project! I really liked it but I am glad to be moving on. Thanks for the suggestions!

    Like

    1. I am officially impressed with anyone who finishes Anna Karenina! I am enjoying it, but it is definitely slow going–I am easily distracted by other books. I’m hoping to make some more headway this week! I can’t recommend Red Clocks enough–occasionally I thought the writing got in the way of itself a bit, but overall it was just fantastic, and the more I think about it, the more I like it. Happy reading!

      Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: